What’s Next?

So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking on what’s next for us in our campus ministry. It’s been a transitional year for us, in many respects. We’ve moved to a worship service format (as opposed to Bible study that we had done in years past). We’re changing our name from Westminster Fellowship to the new denominational name, UKirk. We’ve started up a new program of student-led Bible studies. Overall, there’s been a lot of change, but it’s been good for us, I think.

But I also am feeling kind of restless. Maybe it has something to do with the findings of the Pew Forum, which declares that one in three young adults between 18-29 declare themselves religiously unaffiliated… a rising number of whom are college graduates. Or maybe it has something to do with my gut feeling there’s something different we could be doing as an outreach to college students. Maybe it has something to do with thinking there are new ways we could communicate to folks in our area that they’re not alone, that they’re loved, and that being part of a faith community actually is a good thing. Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that I’m a raging perfectionist looking for ways to enhance our ministry.

I don’t know. In the words of Ron Burgundy, “This is hard. I am in a pickle!”

One place where I’ve found some inspiration is in the work of different New Church Developments. Those places really are like little labs where you can experiment and dabble in different ways of being a church. They’re like that experiment with the volcano we did in middle school. You know what I’m talking about. And if things blow up– for better or for worse– at least they’re trying to be faithful. I think I’m a bit envious of the fearlessness I see in new churches. That whole trying to create a new thing… I admire that.

So I guess that’s where I kind of am right now… trying to figure what to do next. How can we be faithful in a new way here in Tuscaloosa? That’s the beauty of December: we all dream a little bit, don’t we?

~ by presbytide on December 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
