Collegiate Ministry Summit: “Gather at the Well”

Well, guess now’s as good a time as any to pick up where I left off two months ago. The thing is, I really enjoy blogging… but isn’t it just like life for things to happen that take you away from some of those things you love to do? Wah wah, Debbie Downer.

But, hey… here I am in Minneapolis ready to attend the Presbyterian Collegiate Ministry Summit, with the theme “Gather at the Well.” Don’t really know what that means just yet, but I’ll let you know. I’m excited about being here, though, even if I’m sort of running on fumes. It’s already been good to see some familiar faces and start catching up a little bit.

I’m really curious to see what course this conference is going to take, especially since it leads up to the PCUSA General Assembly happening here next week. If you know me or if you’ve read anything I’ve written, you probably know that I’m not that high on our denomination’s campus ministry efforts. Granted, I think things are moving… where, I don’t know, but I think they’re moving. Which, I guess is what I’m interested in when it comes to “gathering at the well.”

I mean, it’s not just a question of how my colleagues in college ministry are doing. Or, for that matter, what they’re doing. It’s more a question of where we’re going… emphasis firmly placed upon “we.” Because the only way we’re going to effect change or make inroads when it comes our denomination’s approach to college ministry is together. At least, that’s what I believe.

Now what does that all look like? No clue. But maybe someone at this conference has an idea. And maybe we can work through it together. At least, that’s what I’m hoping for this weekend.

Stay tuned.

~ by presbytide on July 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
