On High School Reunions

logoWeird how time flies by. Especially 10 years.

In late spring of 1999, our class assembled on the field at Northcutt Stadium in Marietta, GA. It was a hot morning, especially for those of us wearing caps and gowns. Don’t think we really minded, though. We were graduating. Time to move on from the comforts (or discomforts, as the case may be) of high school. Me? I was closing a chapter, and that had my attention. Little did I know that, on that morning, I would be seeing a lot of people for the last time… at least, I’d be seeing them for the last time for 10 years.

This past weekend, I headed east for Marietta High School’s class of 1999 reunion. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to stay for Saturday’s festivities, but I did get a little taste of the weirdness on Friday night.

Don’t get me wrong… I had a blast. Got to do some serious catching up with people with whom I was really close back in the glory days. But nostalgia has a funny way of making you sense the oddest of things: the fleeting nature of time.

In a lot of ways, not much had changed. We still laughed about the same ole things. I felt a little awkwardness passing by the old high school, recalling how I’d once been forced (as a means of Key Club initiation rites) to sing Hootie and the Blowfish’s “Only Wanna Be With You” in a crowded lunchroom my freshman year. Sucked for me. Blue Devil football still had that tinge of community and obsession that I loved in the past.

But then there were things that were drastically different. A few more wrinkles on faces. Classmates of mine with (gulp!) children… I mean, multiple rugrat sightings, rugrats who somehow belong to buddies of mine. And grown-up chat about mortgages and what we’re doing now and do you remember whens.

I found myself asking, “What happened? Has it really been that long? And why do I remember people’s phone numbers and my old locker combinations?” I know, I know… this is the way it goes. We get older and the years go by and the class reunions mark occasions like 20-year and 30-year and 50-year. And some of you may be thinking, “I remember my 10-year reunion… 20 years ago.”

But I don’t think that really changes how funny and fickle time is and how we should passionately live each and every day we’ve been given. Because life is too damn short. These reunions come along way too often. And what will happen when we’re looking through our old yearbooks or thinking about our senior year homecoming dance or laughing about that time when we went all out for the Halloween party and noone else even bothered to dress up (yep… that was once my nightmare… still is, actually)?

What kind of people will we be then? Passionate people? Or regretful?

~ by presbytide on October 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
