Campus Ministry– Why?

So, I’ve been in town for a little less than a week now. Just trying to get my bearings back after Montreat and First Call Conference. Soon I’ll have some pics up from College Conference. In some ways, I think I’m still decompressing and rummaging through all that we heard there. So, be on the lookout for pics.

Tomorrow, I’m teaching a Sunday school class on campus ministry. I think it’s going to be more testimonial in nature… why I think campus ministry is important, why I wish I was more involved in a campus ministry at Furman, why I feel called to be here in Tuscaloosa, why I’m passionate about college students… especially the ones I’ve come to know in the past year. I keep thinking about the passage from Isaiah… you know, the one that says that youths will grow weary, but those who hope in the Lord will learn to soar on the wings of eagles. Something like that.

Anyway, having been at the college conference, meeting new people, checking out new websites (like PCUSA College… you should check it out) I’m really excited about the direction our denomination is headed. But I’m interested in why you think campus ministry is important. Why do you think we really should emphasize it? What’s the point? What effect has it had upon you?

Feel free to comment… I’d be interested in hearing what you have to say. For now, though, I’m off to see Slumdog Millionaire. See y’all around.

~ by presbytide on January 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
