yet another movie post: gran torino

Gran TorinoAbout this time of year is when I start making regular trips to movie theaters because I want to see what the Academy (aka Oscar) deems as good. Hence the recent trip to see Benjamin Button and future trips to see Slumdog Millionaire, Frost/Nixon, and Doubt.

However, there are always those movies that Oscar doesn’t recognize as one of the five best pictures of the year… and you’re left there wondering, “How the heck did they miss (fill in the blank)?” To me, the fact that the Academy neglected Gone Baby Gone last year was a crime. And I bet they’ll overlook Wall-E this year.

I think I saw another one of those movies last night when I saw Gran Torino. I don’t want to give it away or anything, but if you haven’t seen Gran Torino, I recommend it. Granted, Clint Eastwood’s character throws around every manner of racial slur (mainly aimed at the Asian demographic), but, well, for the purposes of the movie, it works. In fact, I can’t imagine the movie without Clint’s fairly sharp (and, on numerous occasions, hilarious) tongue… and no, I’m not condoning racial slurs. Eastwood’s character just wouldn’t work or be as effective without them.

To me, though, Gran Torino’s all about redemption, reconciliation, relationship and grace. I know, I know… I’m throwing around theological terminology here, but it’s what I do. And I’d challenge anyone to ignore or deny the “godly” undertones of the movie. Especially the end… but I won’t go there.

Anyway, Gran Torino… if you’ve seen it, I’d love to hear what you think. If you haven’t seen it, go. I think you’ll like it, even if the Academy may not.

~ by presbytide on January 12, 2009.

One Response to “yet another movie post: gran torino”

  1. Clint Eastwood did a great job of using his outward crankiness to come across as mean as well as somehow heroic this newest film of his

Leave a Reply

 
